About us

The Australian National University (ANU) is a world-leading university. ANU is consistently ranked in the top 20 in the world for the study of law.

Balancing global outlook with local focus, we have a long-standing reputation for excellence in education, research and community outreach, and remain focused on our objectives to:

  • shape and influence public policy, placing an emphasis on the values of law reform and social justice;
  • help understand and address the major legal, social and political challenges of the 21st century; and
  • continue to provide leadership in legal education and research, with the outstanding calibre of our graduates as a key measure of success

Across undergraduate, postgraduate and research degrees, ANU Law School provides a unique understanding of current law and policy, with graduates working not only as lawyers, but as agents for social change, improving public policy and enhancing global diplomacy.

With academic staff recognised as leaders in their fields, ANU Law School has an enviable research profile, holding particular expertise in constitutional and administrative law, international law and environmental law. We have a continued commitment to increasing the representation of women and Indigenous Australians in law and legal practice.

And while our capital city location links us with the nation’s key governmental and judicial bodies, our ongoing innovation in legal education – including the introduction of the first fully online Juris Doctor from a Group of Eight law school – is allowing more people to study with us, regardless of their location.

Governance structure

The ANU Law School is led by our Head of School, Associate Professor Anthony Connolly. The ANU Law School is part of the ANU College of Law, which is governed by a ten member Executive team.

Through its unique structure, the ANU College of Law not only ensures our students understand how law is formed, interpreted and applied, but prepares and equips them for professional practice. Research, outreach and community engagement activities span the College as whole, and involve members from both schools. The ANU College of Law is comprised of:

  • the ANU Law School, responsible for our undergraduate, postgraduate and HDR programs, including the Bachelor of Laws (Honours), Juris Doctor; Graduate Certificate of Law, Master of Laws; and Higher Degree Research
  • ANU School of Legal Practice, one of Australia’s longest serving and largest providers of Practical Legal Training, including the Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice and the Master of Legal Practice.

Research »

Discover what makes us one of Australia's most research-intensive law schools
Sally Wheeler

Governance & leadership »

Information on and contact details for our Dean and senior leadership team
Our people

Our people »

Contact details for academic, research, professional staff and visitors

Updated:  24 August 2017/Responsible Officer:  College General Manager, ANU College of Law/Page Contact:  Law Marketing Team